Middle School Robotics Team Wins Judges' Award in Season Opener

EA's two Middle School FIRST Tech Challenge (FTC) robotics teams kicked off the winter competition season on Saturday, Jan. 27, at McCaskey East High School in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

"FTC teams designed, constructed, programmed, and operated robots for two-on-two matches," explained Middle School Technology Teacher Linda Lew, Hon. "At the end of qualification matches, one of our FTC teams, Team 21619 (Alternating Current), finished in second place. Our other team, Team 21620 (Direct Current), finished in 16th place."

Team 21619 advanced to the playoffs where they lost in the semifinals to the eventual competition winners.

"At the awards ceremony, Team 21619 was awarded the Judges' Award, which is given to a team whose unique efforts, performance, or dynamics merit recognition by the judging panel," said Ms. Lew.

Team 21619 moves on to its next competition on Sunday, Feb. 4, in Philadelphia, where they will be compete against 34 teams from Pennsylvania and Massachusetts. 

EA's FTC program includes 7th and 8th graders. 

Team 21619: Andrew Ahn, Emily Ding, Trey Hamilton, Shane Jiang, Sophie Liu, Kayla Krasnick, and Bryan Li.

Team 21620: Rowen Cisneros, Curran Dougherty, Yousuf Gilani, Max Guo, Benjamin Heo, Faye Mo, Jayden Zhu, Stanley Hu, and Eve Hyman.