26 Students Receive National Merit Recognition
26 Students Receive National Merit Recognition

Twenty-six EA students are being recognized by The National Merit Scholarship Corporation for their academic achievements.

Twelve students have been named National Merit Semifinalists. They include: Parisa Afsharian, Praneeth Alla, Rachel Barber, Phoebe Barr, Isabella Calastri, Olivia Cipperman, Jack Franklin, Jessica Hao, Kevin Li, Bryce Nabulsi, Nishant Thangada, and Jacob Viscusi.

Students qualify for semifinalist recognition by their 2017 PSAT results. The 16,000 semifinalists this year represent one-percent of U.S. high school seniors with the highest scores in each state.

The 14 Commended Students include: Eleanor Campbell, Amy Chen, Lauren Devletian, Celeste Graham, Jonathan Huang, Andrew Landaiche, James Landaiche, Laura Lewis, Kaila Lingo, Max Pinheiro, Jack Purcell, Peter Tang, Amanda Turner, and Evan Zanolli.

Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who took the 2017 PSAT.

Commended Students were announced during Upper School Chapel on Thursday, October 4.

National Merit Semifinalists were announced in September.

"We are so proud of our students' recognition as National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Scholars," shared Director of College Counseling Cynthia Crum. "These students represent the academic excellence that all of our students strive to achieve."