Football - Varsity

Freshman Expectations

Preseason Information


About EA Football:

  • EA won the Inter-Ac Championship in 2019, the first time since 2012; that same year, the team was voted a Southeastern Pennsylvania Top 10 Team and earned selection as both the Philadelphia Inquirer Team of the Year and The Daily Times Super 7 Number One team;
  • Since 2012, at least ten EA football players have gone on to participate on teams at the college level, including UVA, Villanova, Temple, the University of Delaware, and the University of Pennsylvania.

2019-2020 Season Recap (9-1)

The 2019 Varsity Football Team captured the 2019 Inter-Ac championship with a 9-1 overall record and 4-1 in the league. The championship is the first since 2012 and only 3rd since 1983. This marked EA's 26th Inter-Ac football championship. This year’s seniors leave with a career record of 29-11. The 29 wins tie the Class of 2015 with the second most wins in school history. Senior captains Maurcus McDaniel and Matt Bush led the way throughout the season as both contributed heavily on both sides of the ball. McDaniel’s special season on offense will rank at the top of any in recent memory. McDaniel rushed for over 1,300 yards, while throwing for over 1,300. He finished the year with 36 combined touchdowns, rushing or passing. This year’s offense averaged an outstanding 400 yards a game, while averaging 33-points a game- led by a strong senior group upfront that rushed for 300 yards a game in league play. The season was capped off with a 38-28 win against The Haverford School in a true championship game. Big wins over Malvern Prep (29-27), Penn Charter (21-17), and Springside Chestnut Hill Academy (35-34) highlighted the special season with the final victory against The Haverford School to win the league championship and coveted Sweater.

The Philip Marr Lillie Award- Dom Minicozzi '20

The F. Eugene Dixon, Jr. Bowl- Maurcus McDaniel '20

The Mind, Body and Spirit Prize- Matt Bush '20

The John A. Harter Most Improved Awards- Chase Anderson '20

First Team All Inter-Ac- Malcolm Folk '21, Matt Bush, James Hoogstraten '21, Maurcus McDaniel (MVP), Paul McLaughlin '20, Max Strid '21

Second Team All Inter-Ac- Dom Minicozzi, Billy Adams '21

There are no events to display
There are no events to display