Episcopal Academy announces 116 AP Scholars

Posted August 20, 2013

One hundred sixteen students at The Episcopal Academy have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP Exams.

The College Board’s Advance Placement Program® (AP®) provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. About 20 percent of the 2.1 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams. Ten EA students qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average score of 4 or higher on a five-point scale on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. These students are: Karen Christianson ’13 (Media), Julia Fay ’13 (Malvern), Rohan Gulati ’13 (Villanova), Jeffrey Hu ’14 (Phoenixville), Christian Humann ’13 (Haverford), Daniel Saedi ’13 (Bryn Mawr), Daniel Schlaff ’13 (Bryn Mawr), Stacey Sloate ’13 (Rosemont), Anthony Thai ’13 (Broomall), and Matthew Vegari ’13 (Gladwyne).

Forty-three students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are: Jameson Achuff ’13 (Berwyn), Dimantha Andrahennady ’14 (Glen Mills), Patrick Bernhardt ’13 (Conshohocken), Thomas Boynton ’13 (Bryn Mawr), Luke Brooman ’13 (Ardmore), Nicole Carolin ’13 (Malvern), Mary Catherine Curran ’13 (Berwyn), Peter Cusack ’13 (Bryn Mawr), Kaitlyn DiMarco ’13 (Malvern), Patrick Espe ’14 (Newtown Square), Kevin Flannery ’13 (Haverford), John Flynn ’14 (Rose Valley), Ernst Freese ’14 (Newtown Square), Carter Gantt ’13 (Berwyn), Christina Halcovich ’13 (Bryn Mawr), Kristen Hinckley ’13 (Bryn Mawr), Catharine Hopkins ’13 (St. Davids), Claire Kneizys ’13 (Newtown Square), Kathleen Larkin ’13 (Newtown Square), Matthew London ’13 (Malvern), Alice Maltby ’13 (Newtown Square), Patrick McCarthy ’13 (Malvern), Erin McCarthy ’13 (Newtown Square), Daniel McCormick ’13 (Villanova), Devin McLaughlin ’13 (Villanova), Nicholas Mead ’13 (Strafford), Lynda Michaels ’13 (Chester Springs), Meredith Nelson ’13 (Devon), Anna Ochsner ’13 (Chester Springs), Michael Quinlin ’14 (Spring City), Rohan Rajagopalan ’14 (Newtown Square), Roshan Ravishankar ’14 (Broomall), Shreya Reddy ’13 (Audubon), Curran Reilly ’13 (West Chester), Rachel Repke ’13 (Malvern), Emily Rhodes ’14 (St. Davids), Alexander Rice ’13 (Berwyn), Matthew Robinson ’14 (West Chester), Michael Smerconish ’14 (Villanova), Chester Thai ’14 (Broomall), Alix Vadot ’13 (Newtown Square), Leslie Williams ’13 (Media), and Katherine Wu ’13 (Ardmore).

Thirty-two students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are: John Alden ’14 (Berwyn), Alexandra Archambault ’14 (Chester Springs), Jake Aronchick ’13 (Villanova), Madeleine Blommer ’14 (Radnor), Shuyi Chen ’14 (Wayne), Paige Dunlap ’14 (Wayne), Sean Fahey ’13 (Villanova), Robyn Farrell ’13 (Newtown Square), Edward Fenimore ’13 (Berwyn), Taylor Fitzgerald ’14 (Newtown Square), Kevin Gayhardt ’13 (Bryn Mawr), Caroline Giles ’14 (Devon), Carli Grims (Berwyn) ’14, Kira Henson (Bryn Mawr) ’14, Allison Jacoby (Villanova) ’13, Victoria Johnson (Bryn Mawr) ’14, Jack Keffer (Rose Valley), Steve Lucey ’13 (Villanova), Ethan Markman ’14 (Bryn Mawr), Michelle McCann ’13 (Villanova), Thomas Meltzer ’14 (Wynnewood), Clellie Merchant ’14, (Hockessin, DE), Amanda E. Molitor ’14 (Radnor), Michael Niu ’13 (Swarthmore), Kathleen O’Reilly ’14 (Villanova), David Palumbo ’13, (St. Davids), Ciara Pettinos ’13 (Malvern), Ryan Quinlan ’14 (Spring City), Antoinette Racliffe ’14 (Malvern), Robert Ruggiero ’13 (Malvern), Kelly Szafara ’13 (Berwyn), and John Tyson ’14 (Wayne).

Thirty-one students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are: Jonathan Barr (Philadelphia) ’14, Connor Boyle (Ardmore) ’13, Walter Buckley (Wayne) ’14, Allison Camp (Media) ’14, Alexis Curry ’14 (Bryn Mawr), Julianne Dones ’14 (Thornton), Kellen Edmondson ’13 (Wallingford), Willow Frederick ’13 (West Chester), Martin Grims ’14 (Berwyn), Meghan Hubley ’13 (West Chester), Caroline Hunter ’14 (Radnor), Jonathan Hurst ’14 (Bryn Mawr), Rory Isdaner ’13 (Gladwyne), Intesar Janjua ’14 (Collegeville), Andrew Jannetta ’14 (Haverford), Max Kane ’14 (West Chester), Chloe Kinzig ’14 (Newtown Square), Zoe Kovacs ’14 (Newtown Square), Julia Lake ’13 (Ridley Park), Zhouyu Lu ’14 (China), Nisha Meyer ’13 (Chester Springs), Briana Narzikul ’13 (Media), Walter Norley ’13 (Malvern), Caroline O’Rourke ’14 (Wynnewood), Richard Palazzese ’14 (Berwyn), Jonathan Pusey ’14 (Malvern), Audrey Regillo ’13 (Bryn Mawr), Christine Schlarbaum ’14 (Newtown Square), James Singley ’14 (Berwyn), Bennett Smith ’13 (Wayne), and Natalie Stuart ’14 (Mont Clare).

The College Board is a mission-driven not-for-profit organization that connects students to college success and opportunity. Founded in 1900, the College Board was created to expand access to higher education. Today, the membership association is made up of over 6,000 of the world’s leading educational institutions and is dedicated to promoting excellence and equity in education. Each year, the College Board helps more than seven million students prepare for a successful transition to college through programs and services in college readiness and college success – including the SAT® and the Advancement Placement Program. The organization also serves the education community through research and advocacy on behalf of students, educators, and schools.

« Back